OK, I’ve decided to start juicing.  Now what?!?!  Next step, what machine is going to be my partner in this process?

There is a lot to consider when buying a juicer:

  • How often is it going to be used?
  • How much is it going to cost?
  • What kinds of foods are going to be juiced?
  • Does the kind of juicer effect the amount of nutrients in the juice?
  • How much space will it take up on my counter?

In my situation I am going to use it every day and money doesn’t grow on trees so cost is an issue – BUT I do have a birthday coming up (as we all know!) and so I have a little extra oomph that I can put toward my birthday gift.

My juicing inspiration came from Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet book so that was the first place I looked for the answers to these questions.  In addition to this resource I did a lot of research on the web.  Please see the bottom of this post for the links.

What I learned is that there are three categories of juicers on the market: Centrifugal, Masticating, and Twin Gear.  Huh?  I quickly realized this was going to be a little harder than I thought.  After a little digging I came up with the following summaries:

Centrifugal (aka – the grinder): Least expensive. Easier to clean but spins the veggies/fruits so the nutrients will oxidize* more quickly which means the juice may lose some of its nutrition.  Juices made in a centrifugal juicer should be drank as soon as possible after juicing.  Good for the new juicer that is testing the green waters. $25 – $200 (estimated)

*Oxidization – when oxygen gets to the veggies and turns them brown.  Have you ever had guacamole sit out at a party for too long and it turns brown…yep, too much oxygen.  Same with apples in a waldorf salad….remember, I did mention I am from the Midwest.  Yes, I serve waldorf salad at Easter 🙂

Masticating (aka – the chewer.  Single Gear/Singe Auger/Cold Press): Mid-range in terms of expense.  Operates at a slower speed and fruits/veggies are squeezed and pressed as the juice and pulp are separated, so you get more juice from your veggies/fruits because there is less heat involved.  Less foam with this type of juicer. Is a good choice for a home juicer that wants to maximize nutritional value and has some extra cash on hand. $200 – $400(estimated)

Twin Gear (aka – the presser. Triturating): Most expensive.  Presses food between two interlocking roller gears.  Juices lose the least amount of nutrients. These are very big and can take up a lot of counter space.  Many juicing restaurants use this type of juicer so if you are looking to do this at home and store under the cabinet during the day, this may be a bit bigger than what you are looking for.  They are the top of the line juicers though and many can also juice wheatgrass**.  $400 – $600 (estimated)

**At this time I have not yet explored the wheatgrass juicers but I hear there are juicers that are made specifically for wheatgrass juicing.  Look forward to more about this topic as I begin juicing and learn more about what wheatgrass has to offer!

Other things to consider is amount of pulp and size of chute (size of chute will determine if you need to cut the veggies/fruit before putting them into the juicer).

Lastly, if you are looking to have your juicer do something in the kitchen in addition to juicing be sure to check that out.  Many of the more expensive varieties make other food products like baby food, nut butters, ice cream, etc.

My advice?  Go to Amazon and type in “juicers”.  You will get a list that encompasses all kinds of juicers.  Read the reviews, look at the prices, pick one that speaks to you.  There is no right or wrong answer – just juice baby, just juice.

For me, I chose the Green Star Twin Gear, I am starting a blog after all.  It was a LOT of money and I am super excited about my future juices – the countdown has begun!  In my “about” section, did you notice that I used the word “wonderful” when I mentioned my husband.  Not a mistake 🙂

Huffington Post Types of Juicers Article

Harvest Essentials Article

Ferns Nutrition – 5 Main Types of Juicers (I combined a few for ease, but this really is a great article!)

Raw Juice Cleanse Recipes.com (Great breakdown of the different types of juicers – a great overview)